Skip to content

Why two blogs? – Mysteries await

September 4, 2009

So, after taking time off to regenerate and reboot, I have come back to the darkside…my old love…blogging.

But, why am I here? And what happens to Simple-n-Complex?

Simple…but, complex really.

First, the old site will NOT go away, and will be what I had envisioned..An Age of Conan news blog. AoC has become a great niche title. A game where the norm of combat from most MMO’s has been put aside for a more visceral experience. Where questing has some background, and the people who tell you their stories have a life..some sad, some happy, and overall wonderful. And the best part? A low fantasy world, with NO ELVES.

Second, this new site is not a “hype” site for a new game. It is a discussion on the intricacies of the new MMO “The Secret World”. I also will be touching on the World of Darkness from developers CCP when we have more information.

Why these two games? Well, it all boils down to my interest in all things Supernatural. Whether it is in forms or Horror, Conspiracy, Christianity, Paganism, Ritual, Political…if something hides underneath, I want to know more.

Knowledge is key!

I do not wish to discuss “MMO” theory, as it has been done to death. I do not wish to discuss the games that I least enjoy (but one last shot right now…these games are horrible…LOTRO, DDO, Vanguard, WAR and Darkfall…./rantoff), but I do wish to discuss games which may offer something different than we have normally seen in this genre.

But, the overall goal is how do the cogs of machination and the others behind the “curtain” affect our world, and how are these intertwined with the Secret World or the World of Darkness.

For all I know, we may see both of these titles I am excited about be the same thing we have always had. MMO boredom, with some grind thrown in for good measure. I will be ok with that, because, the overall reach of a new genre within the genre intrigues me the most. We have lived in Fantasy and Sci-Fi (and Superheroes) long enough. I embrace these forward looking games to bring something that we do not normally see in the MMO genre.

A new setting. And for me a new beginning.

I hope you will enjoy. And I ask that if YOU see something that makes you wonder “why”…share it here.

The cipher is ready to be broken.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2009 10:13 am

    You ever play Arkham Asylum by Fantasy Flight games?

  2. September 4, 2009 10:22 am

    This title is unknown to me, but I HAVE played Steve Jacksons Illuminati, Vampire, Mage, Wraith…etc.
    I will look into Arkham…

    Thank you

  3. Castamere permalink
    September 4, 2009 10:23 am

    Definitely put your new blog on my reader. Very interested in the Secret World as well and – although heavily burned by Funcom in the past – I keep coming back for more. This at least has the mind behind the Longest Journey operating behind it and a unique IP so I’m really pulling for good things and hope that Funcom, with two MMO’s under its belt at this juncture, can learn from its mistakes.

  4. September 4, 2009 10:26 am

    Thank you for your input, and I am glad you will join me here.

    As I stated, this blog will discuss more than just the games, but the overarching realm of conspiracy, horror and more.

    If you have read Fortean Times, then you should stay here. Enjoy Lovecraft? Horror? Stick it out, as this will be a wild ride.

  5. H00LiGAN permalink
    September 4, 2009 10:41 am

    Sounds sweet. Count me in as a regular follower!

Leave a Reply

